Design and Technology

CURRICULUM INTENT

Design and Technology is an inspiring, rigorous and practical subject. We encourage students to learn, to think and intervene creatively to solve problems both as individuals and as members of a team. At Sackville School, we encourage students to develop their use of creativity and imagination, to design and make products that solve real and relevant problems within a variety of contexts, considering their own and others’ needs, wants and values. We encourage our students to become innovators and risk-takers.

CURRICULUM RATIONALE

We aim to:

  • wherever possible, link work to other disciplines such as mathematics, business, science, engineering, computing and art. 
  • The students are also given opportunities to reflect upon and evaluate past and present design technology, its uses and its effectiveness and are encouraged to become innovators and risk-takers.
  • We intend to build a Design & Technology curriculum which develops learning and results in the acquisition of knowledge and skills. Students will know more, remember more and understand more.

 

CURRICULUM MAPS – DESIGN AND TECHNOLOGY

Year 7 Curriculum Map Year 8 Curriculum Map Year 9 Curriculum Map Year 10 Curriculum Map Year 11 Curriculum Map Year 12 Curriculum Map Year 13 Curriculum Map

 

STAFF CONTACTS

Curriculum Team Leader for Design and Technology – Mr Kevin Treen

Last Name First Name Staff Code Work Email
Garrett Neil NGT ngarrett@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Slater Vicky VSR vslater@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Treen Kevin KTN ktreen@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Wicks Emma EWS ewicks@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Crawford Natasha NCD ncrawford@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Croft Sheridan SCT scroft@sackvilleschool.org.uk
Buckley Hannah HBY hbuckley@sackvilleschool.org.uk